The history of Central America’s independence explained

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.

Email This Story

On Sept. 15, 1821, six nations of Central America united together to sign for their independence. They signed a plan drafted by Agustin de Iturbide liberating them from Spain. Central America before the independence was known as Captaincy General of Guatemala, or the kingdom of Guatemala, a colonization for the Spanish empire since 1609. It included present-day countries Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, and Nicaragua.

In the 18th century, Spain had begun introducing reforms that divided the colonies into different regions that we now have as the present-day nations. These reforms led to the independence of Central America by unknowingly giving them a sense of nationalism and their own identities as countries.

The first revolt was in El Salvador around 1811, the revolts were easily squashed and influenced the Spanish constitution of 1812. This lead to a snowball of events that eventually ended with the independence of Central America.

The first attempt of having a unified government was the Federal Republic of Central America that was formed a couple years after their succession. However, the Federation disbanded in 1841 and each nation created their own form of government.

We now celebrate Sept. 15-Oct. 15, not only as the independence of Central America but the heritage of all Hispanic culture. The succession of Central America was the first to many, inspiring all of Latin America.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email